India Vs West Indies: Dhawan will be the captain of Team India in the ODI series against West Indies, Jadeja becomes the vice-captain

India Vs West Indies: Shikhar Dhawan will lead the Indian team in the upcoming three-match ODI series against West Indies. At the same time, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has been made the vice-captain of the team. Several veterans have been rested on this tour along with senior team players Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. Team India was announced for the West Indies tour by BCCI on Wednesday.

In the absence of regular skipper Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan has been named as the captain of the Indian team for the three-match ODI series against West Indies to be played in Port of Spain, Trinidad, from July 22, the Cricket Board said in a statement. At the same time, Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant are among the players who have been rested during this tour.

Two other senior players Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have also been rested. Hardik Pandya, who recently made it to the Indian team after achieving success in the Indian Premier League (IPL), is also not part of the team.

Deepak Hooda, Sanju Samson, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Avesh Khan are not part of the ODI squad for the series starting July 12 in England. However, he has been included in the 16-man Indian squad for the West Indies tour.

Shubham Gill, who played the last ODI in December 2020, has also been selected by the selectors. Dhawan, who played only in ODIs, took over the captaincy of the team for the first time on the tour of Sri Lanka last year, when the Test specialist was in England.

There has also been a lot of criticism in the past regarding the appointment of too many captains for the Indian team in the last one year with Bumrah, Pant, Rahul, Hardik and Dhawan leading the team due to workload management apart from schedule and injury related issues. Had it.

All three ODIs will be played in Port of Spain. These matches in the West Indies will be the last ODI of the Indian team before the T20 World Cup in Australia, so resting senior players is not a surprising decision. After the ODIs, India will play five T20Is against West Indies on Caribbean soil and against the US for which the squad will be announced.

The team is as follows:-

Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Ravindra Jadeja (vice captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Famous Krishna, Mohammad Siraj and Arshdeep Singh.

Related Articles

Back to top button